Sunday, October 13, 2013

Diamond Grading Reports

You’ve been told that having a certificate or 
a diamond grading report is important, and 
as a responsible consumer, you get one – 
unfortunately, you probably won’t understand 
a word of what is on that diamond grading 
report, unless you are a jeweler.

On the color grading scale, D, E, and F 
mean that the diamond has no color. G, H, 
and I means that it has very little color. J, K, 
and L means that the diamond has a slight 
yellow color. P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, W, and X 
means that the diamond is a darker shade 
of yellow. Z means that the diamond has a
 fancy color – other than white or yellow.  
On the color grading scale, D is the most 
valuable, and X is the least valuable – 
however diamonds that get a Z rating are
 the rarest and most expensive diamonds 
in the world.

There are many aspects to a grading report. 
Figuring it all out can be very confusing. You 
should talk to a jeweler you trust, and have 
them explain everything on the diamond 
grading report to you.